Advice for analyzing a small sample

I am currently working on my doctoral thesis in computer science and I have data from an experiment that I want to analyze, but I don't want to run the risk of over-analyzing my results while I stumble around trying to figure out which tests are appropriate. Hence, I want to develop a solid, respectable protocol for what tests I'm going to employ BEFORE opening up the data files, and then stick to that protocol.

In a perfect world, this plan would have been worked out BEFORE collecting the data, but the opportunity to access the particular population I studied came up quickly and there wasn't time. Due to the limited window of opportunity, and the time required to collect each sample, I have a small population here. Just 10 people. And since the window has closed, I can't go back and raise my sample size to 30, either. I'm stuck with what I've got. What I'm now looking for is some creative ways to tease meaningful insights from this limited data, and to do so in a defensible, rigorous manner.

The experiment involved showing each user a series of 24 images, and then asking them to score each one on several different subjective critieria, such as quality of the image's composition, level of emotional response to the image, artistic merit of the image's color palette, etc. They're entirely subjective assessments, and each attribute was scored for each image by each user, on a 5-point scale.

The images in the trial were collected using two different algorithms, and the respondents evaluated them in a mingled collection, presented in random order. Users had no way of knowing which images were chosen by which algorithm. In fact, users don't even know the point of the experiment. They were just asked to evaluate for the subjective criteria.