advice on statistics

I'm a doctoral research student in England, and have conducted both a pilot study and a main study. I've done some statistical analysis already, and have done quite a bit of writing, but since statistics are definitely NOT my strong point, I'm worried that the analysis I've done so far is either way too simplistic and unsophisticated for a dissertation, or just plain wrong. I'm looking for advice about what I've done so far, and recommendations for more things I could do, or corrections. Here are the details - I apologize in advance if it's all a bit much:

My study compares the effectiveness of three different teaching methodologies, and includes a control group. I have data for a pilot study and a main study. I’m using SPSS 12.0.1.

Research questions:
1. what effect, if any, does training have on reading comprehension, context ability and vocabulary size?
2. does method of training (method A, method B, method C) have any effect on reading comprehension, context ability and vocabulary size?

Pilot study – 17 participants in all, divided into 4 groups with 5, 3, 3 and 6 members.

· Pre-tests: Reading comprehension (RC), context ability (CA), several vocabulary size measures (V), and language aptitude (LA). A language proficiency (LP) score was also obtained.

· Pre-tests followed by training.

· Training followed by immediate post-tests: reading comprehension and context ability.

· Delayed post-tests: RC, CA, V.

Statistics for pilot study –

· Test for normality of distribution of RC and CA tests for the group as a whole: Kolmogorov-Smirnov tests are non-significant (.200), but Q-Q plots show dots not on the line (around, but not on).

· Test for equivalence of groups (to see if groups were equivalent before training):