Analysing count data? PLEASE HELP!

I'm an MSc student and not particularly statically minded and I would really appreciate some help on going about analysing count data! Please try to keep is simple!

I have two species, the common frog and marsh frog and I have count data on both species since 1980. The marsh frog is non-native and I am trying to ascertain whether since the introduction of the marsh frog they are negatively impacting/outcompeting the common frog. If they were outcompeting you would expect to see the population counts of the marsh frog increase whilst the population of common frogs decrease. I want to statistically test this "model/hypothesis"!

How is it best to go about this? I have already ascertained that counts for both species is non-normally distributed so I'm assuming non-parametric tests. I don't really know where to start, maybe a Mann Whitney U test or Kruskal-Wallis test? Is it best to group the data counts i.e 1980-1984, 1985-1989, 1990-1994 etc!

(Sorry I cant upload the actual data to a public forum, I have not got permission for this but please find attached fabricated data!)

Many thanks in advance!

rogojel

TS Contributor
hi,
as a first shot, just to see what happens, you could try a simple regression model with the count data as the independent variable and year and species as dependent variables. If you had a significant interaction term between year and species that would be an indication that the two species evolve differently in time.

If the model is unsatisfactory, e.g. the residuals have a significant autocorrelation you could try more sophisticated models.

Your simulated data yields a linear model that is almost ok, except that the common frog values are unusually large in a few years.

regards

I wouldn't use a Mann Whitney test when I have your data. Even though they are discrete, you have more than 30 observations, just do a time-series analysis.