I'm new to Multilevel modeling and currently I been working on a business project and its data is related to multilevel modeling. I know a lot of things about how to approach this problem, but I will do my reasoning so you can tell me if it is ok or wrong. So I need a mind that know this type of things. Any suggestions will be very appreciated.
Data:
I can't show the data because it is confidencial, but I will explain you with an example.The data is collected by asking clients to score from 1 to 10 his experience about a certain business. The differents columns are:
  • Client: Client id.
  • Characteristic: A characteristic such "Price" for example. There are 11 characteristics. (All Industries and Businesses have the same characteristics)
  • Business: The business which the client belongs to. There are 49 businesses.
  • Industry: The Industry which the client belongs to. There are 13 industries.
  • Score: Score from 1 to 10 of the experience
  • X1,X2,...,Xn: Different variables at the individual level such as age,gender,etc.
(Total numbers of rows are aprox 10.000)
Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 5.55.39 PM.png

Understanding data structure:
  • An Industry can have multiple Business.
  • A business has only one Industry.
  • A Business can han multiple Characteristics.
  • Multiple Characteristics can be said by a Client.
So, I think that the data is structured as Fig.1, but because there are 2 multiple-membership links (same weight I guess?), I can assume to make the structure more handleable for lme4, that every Characteristic said is just by one Client, resulting as Fig. 2. Ok, but I still have this multiple-membership between Business and Characteristics, so, ¿Can I use Characteristic as a fixed effect and use Fig.3 data structure? (It may be problematic due to quantity of Characteristics I think, too much parameters) What would be your thought on this?

From now on I will assume for just example purpose, to assume a strict hierarchical structure.