Arthritis trial data: Advanced multivariate stats problem.

I am a doctor planning a post-hoc exploratory analysis of some clinical trial data and would like some suggestions as to the best approach.
Patients with arthritis have many inflamed joints; in clinical trials, doctors test 66 of these for tenderness and swelling. The result is trinary: 0; no involvement, 1; unilateral involvement and 2; bilateral involvement. Effective treatments improve swelling and tenderness and lead to a reduction in the summed score of all 66 joints. My drug has an overall similar effect as another drug in improving this overall score in a randomised trial, but I want to know the typical pattern of response for my drug vs the second drug, which has a different mode of action and may work better or worse in specific joints. We don't have a firm hypothesis as to which joints these may be, so we are looking at a purely exploratory analysis.

The endpoint would be the change in score in a given joint over time, say after 3 months. Other time points (1,3,6,12 months) are available if a repeated-measures approach incorporating the change over multiple timepoints is possible/desirable, but the response at 3 months is most relevant.

What options are open to us for defining the pattern of changes (deterioration and improvement) in the trinary score in 66 different joints? As the patients globally improve, these changes are likely to be highly intercorrelated. There are, of course, many additional demographic and clinical factors that may influence the pattern of joint responses, and it would be good to account for these.