Becoming a Statistician - What to master, R, SAS, or SQL?

Hi, I'm new to the forum!

I hold a M.S. in Pure Math and I have been working as a community college instructor for a few years. I recently completed a graduate certificate in statistics (15 graduate credit hours - Mathematical Statistics I and II, Linear Statistical Model, Machine Learning I and II) and I'm interested in becoming a statistician. Now, I have been using "R" for my entire statistic program, but as I am doing job search on USAJOBS and Indeed I found that a number of the positions require both SAS and SQL (especially on government jobs, I am a US Army Veteran and I'm hoping to work for the Feds as I can carry my service years into the job), so my question is: Should I continue to learn more to master "R"? Or should I go ahead and focus on learning SAS and SQL?

Any comments are appreicated, thank you in advance!

maartenbuis

TS Contributor
If you know multiple programs, then you are signaling to your future employer that you are flexible and can learn new programs, or new features of programs you already know, when needed. That is often more valuable than knowing one program extremly well.

SAS has a large and very loyal user base, mainly because many organisations have build up a large collection of SAS code, which would be expensive to port to another program. For that reason it would be a fair choice when you want to become a professional statistician. On the other hand, its capabilities largly overlap with R; they are both general purpose statistical programs. SQL aims at doing different things; database management. So that would be more of an opportunity to learn something new.

Last edited:

Lazar

Phineas Packard
This recent survey would suggest that learning SQL would be a plus and R is the next most important BUT I take the point maartenbuis about collections of SAS code.

For SQL I found this [warning! PDF] to be useful to start with

hlsmith

Not a robit