biostatistics-biometrics-bionformatics

hi ,

I graduated from department of statistics in Greece and i am looking for a master in statistics.The field that i am interested in, is statistics in Public health,medicine etc...with a research i made on the internet, i didn't understand which is the main difference between those fields( biostatistics-biometrics-bioinformatics).if anyone knows, i'll be glad to hear about it.

And of course , any suggestions about masters programs on these fields, are welcomed!!

hlsmith

Omega Contributor
General differences:

biostatistics: statistics in the field of health

biometrics: science behind measurements in the field of health

bioinformatics: science behind health data (medical records, registries, insurance data, etc...)

There is considerable overlap between all of these programs.

Firstly, thanks for the reply.
so, which field do you suggest to have a master's in ? I know that this is clearly my decision of course, but i am very confused! i made my research, and because i want to take my master's basically in Netherlands, i didn't found a program in ''biostatistics''.there are programs like ''statistics in life sciences and behavioural'' . the other programs are in ''bioinformatics'' , ''clinical research'' , ''medical sciences'' etc. I know that maybe i am being foolish, but it is a very tough decision! and i want ot be sure, to choose the right one!

TheEcologist

Global Moderator