Career crossroads

ssr

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice. I'm kind of in limbo as to what to do career-wise.

A little background first..

I graduated in 2002 with a BSc from the University of Toronto, majoring in Actuarial Science and minoring in Applied Statistics. I've always had a general inkling for math and numbers but never really liked studying so I pretty much got through university doing the bare minimum to pass but never really trying to excel. As a result, my grades were not great.

Since then, I've worked in the capital markets industry (hedge fund, then brokerage) doing rudimentary spreadsheet work on excel, while learning how to trade. I've never really applied anything I learned in school onto any job I've had though.

I really haven't had a steady job in a couple of years now and was thinking of applying for a Masters program in Statistics. I know that sounds completely counter-intuitive to everything I just wrote above but I feel as though my quantitative nature should be part of my professional life. With my work background, a job as a quant trader/analyst might be in the cards for me if I were to obtain a graduate degree and learn some programming (of which I know none). Then again, I'm not sure if I'll even like it. I think I'd prefer a career that involved some bit of travelling and not having to sit in front of a computer all day.

I've considered many different avenues. The business analytics field also intrigues me because I've been reading that its the wave of the future and you need a math/stats background to progress.

So, in short: