Career in statistics

Hi

I'm thinking about a career in statistics, possibly by doing a Diploma in Statistics with Open University, here in the UK. However, I am wondering if I know all my options... I am currently a Database Officer and have been trained in SQL, SPSS, MSAccess, M***cel... the usual stuff really... I think my options include (a) database administrator or (b) data analysis - for which I would go for statistician status.

Does anyone have any advice or guidance for me? How did you get to where you are today? What's your career path? What other options did you investigate? Any regrets or unfufilled ambitions?

Thanks for any and all help.
Ida

Hi

I am currently a statistical analyst, working in London. I haven't got a degree in stats so it may not be necessary for you to get one in order to pursue a similar career. My career path is:
Graduated in 2006 with masters in Maths/Physics (I did some stats in physics but not very much)
Started job as data analyst where I learned mainly SQL and a little SAS, stayed for 18 months.
Moved to London and began job as Statistical Analyst.

My job is ok but im not completely sure it's the right thing for me, it can be a bit boring at times.

Hi Gemma

Thanks for your response. I reckon your degree in maths/physics helped to get you on your career path - I think I need something to get started with concepts and tools. Also, I think the qualification would make a difference to what salary I can demand/expect.

I'm gearing more and more towards statistics - what do you find boring about it? Is it to do with the type of work or the company you're in? Is the Statistical Analyst much different to the Data Analyst job?

Thanks
Ida

ida and gemma, if you guys go to the royal statistical society you can find their mailing list... Tons of job offers and some statistical discussion.