Career Path

Hey guys... I could use a suggestion or two for the next stage of my career.

I completed B.S. in Applied Mathematics from Rutgers in 2009 and started working in Quality for manufacturing companies. I knew it would be tough to change fields once I start working but I had no choice due to loans. Now, It is giving me tough times getting a job related to my education background. As I mentioned in my introduction thread, my interest towards Statistics is growing really fast. I started learning SAS/R and started reading some general materials.

Anyhow, I started applying for jobs in Statistics but haven't had any luck. I understand, I have no experience. Do you have any recommendation on where should I specially look? I am ready to start at zero. I am located in NJ but open to relocate anywhere in US.

Any help would be appreciated it. Thanks.

hlsmith

Not a robit
USAjobs.gov usually has some statistician postings, at least in the past they did. They usually look for SAS experience, so that may help. However, the buraucratic tape can get pretty thick. Other options may be looking at universities. Any particular field that you may be interested in (e.g., finance, medicine, actuary, etc.)?

bryangoodrich

Probably A Mammal