Comparing correlated data

Hello,

I am a masters student at university however I do not have any statistical qualifications beyond A-level (many years ago!), so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

My research is comparing two pre-treatment measures (A and B) to treatment success, and investigating if A or B is a better predictor of treatment success.

However, A and B are correlated (Pearson 0.649 (sig 0.000)). I understand that linear regression can not be used with correlated data because this indicates confounding. However, theoretically one pre treatment measure could still be a better predicator of treatment success, despite the correlation.

An example of this in a different context is:
BMI and waist size both affect chance of getting diabetes, but it is known that waist size is a better predictor. However, BMI and waist size still correlate with each other.

If linear regression cannot be used, then is there a statistical test that can be used to show this?

Many thanks

Almost everything in life is correlated. Allowing several correlated predictors into a linear model is totally fine, as long as there is no multicollinearity. To see which predictor has the highest predictive power, you can look at a number of metrics. One useful metric is the standardized regression coefficient (often called "beta").

ondansetron

TS Contributor
Almost everything in life is correlated. Allowing several correlated predictors into a linear model is totally fine, as long as there is no multicollinearity. To see which predictor has the highest predictive power, you can look at a number of metrics. One useful metric is the standardized regression coefficient (often called "beta").