Confusion concerning repeated measures and t-test. Would love input.

Hi guys

So Im doing my dissertation.

I did a study with two groups, a control and intervention group. They were both tested at baseline and follow up.

I did repeated measures in SPSS which revealed no significant differences between groups. I did paired t-tests post hoc. The paired t-tests showed that the control group got significantly better form baseline to follow up. The intervention group did not get significantly better.

My questions are two-fold:

1. Why did the control group show significant improvement when doing t-tests but that was not detected with the repeated measures when comparing groups?
2. My supervisor mentioned that t-tests were not appropriate for post hoc testing. I simply do not understand this and would want to know which tests are appropriate post hoc following repeated measures?

My apologies if any of this is unclear, I am still new to statistics and am trying to gain a grasp of it. If necessary ask away and I will answer to the best of my capability.

Input will be grately appriciated.

Have a nice evening.

Tobias

katxt

I guess that you did a 2 way repeated measures anova group x time. Did you include the interaction?
If you found no sig difference then that is the end of it. You shouldn't really do anything else. Post hoc tests are to test between different levels of a factor after some significant difference is found, but because you have only two levels for each factor, post hoc tests are not needed. If you have several levels, then paired t tests would be appropriate with some adjustment of the significance level. It is quite possible to get post hoc p values less than 0.05 which don't prove significance.

For a simple method try a paired t test between the groups using the after-before differences.

Cheers

Yes I included the interaction.

But is there any way I can statistically underpin that the control group got better?