Constructing intervals VS hypothesis testing?

Hi folks,

let me briefly anticipate that I am a total newby to the magical world of statistics. So, right now I'm preparing for a "quantitative methods for economics" test, but while doing my exercises I found myself wondering about what could be very stupid things.

here's the thing: I had two questions, which respectively looked like this:

QUESTION 1: A consultant hired by a University claims that the average student housing expense was 350€ per month. What are the null and alternative hypotheses to test whether this claim is accurate? b. The sample mean for student housing is 341.29€ and the sample standard deviation is 26.51€. Construct a 95% confidence interval for the population mean and evaluate the hypotheses of (a).

QUESTION 2: A poll by the German Sleep Foundation found that parents average about 7 hours of sleep per night. Researcher from a health insurance agency are interested that parents participating in their sleep program sleep longer than seven hours on average, and they would like to demonstrate this using a sample of parents. They conducted a simple random sample of n=110 parents. The conditions with respect to independence, sample size and skew are met. They find that the parents averaged 7.42 hours of sleep and the standard deviation of the amount of sleep for the students was 1.75 hours. a. Set up the null and the alternative hypotheses. b. Calculate the standard error of ̅. c. Compute the p-value and evaluate the hypotheses.

I have no problem with the calculations, because as you can see they are very easy in both cases. What is really not clear to me are these 3 things: