Continuous or Discrete: Likert-type Time

Hi!

Sorry for asking a very basic question. I'm not good at stats and can't reach someone who knows. I searched the net with many different keywords but failed to find any answers.

So, Are these variables Discrete or Continuous?

1. Approximately how long have you had your MySpace account?
a.) 6 months
b.) 1 year
c.) 1.5 years
d.) 2 years
e.) 2.5 years
f.) 3+ years

2. Approximately how many minutes per day do you spend on MySpace?
a.) 10 or less
b.) 10–30
c.) 31–60
d.) 1–2 h
e.) 2–3 h
f.) 3+ h

I appreciate any help :confused: :rolleyes: and Thank you in advance...

Is this homework and are discrete/continuous the only options?
Thanks for responding Dason!

This is part of my thesis. I am planning to conduct a regression analysis. If the variables are continuous I have more options. Ordinal and Discrete ones limit the study.

Dason

Ambassador to the humans
Well question 1 has a discrete response but question 2 I would classify as ordinal.

What is the overall goal? Do you want to use these as predictors or as responses?

Well question 1 has a discrete response but question 2 I would classify as ordinal.

What is the overall goal? Do you want to use these as predictors or as responses?
I want to use them as responses. I have a personality scale as predictor. I want to conduct a regression analysis as: (IV) personality -> demographics (DV)

Would it be "completely wrong" to use them as continuous dependent variables in a multiple regression?

noetsi

No cake for spunky
It varies but commonly if you have 5 or more categories likert scale data is interval enough to use in OLS. The key issue is less if its discrete than if its multivariate normal (I had a fun discussion on this topic with a professor in this area today - he noted that contrary to the common wisdom in stats books, even binary dependent data could often be used in OLS as a dependent variable).