Creating Loops (specifically for graphing)

I have been using STATA for a couple months, but not very intensely, and I've never had a STATA manual or introductory book to read. I have tried using loops a couple times but have never been successful; I have been able to get by without them so far. In the project I'm currently working on, I could continue to get by without looping, but I would like to learn how to do this.

In this project, I need to create scatter plots with a line tracking the plots. On the x-axis is age, and on the y-axis is an average test score for three different exams given (will refer to these as "average1", "average2", and "average3"). I also need to split these up by gender and by country (there are approximately 30 countries, with a country ID assigned to each. Each graph should both males and females, but should be for only one country (so with around 30 countries, there should be 30 graphs). Here is my first attempt at creating something anywhere close to what I need in this loop:

foreach var of average1 average2 average3 {
twoway scatter `var' age
}

As you can tell, my knowledge of STATA is very limited. I have tried incorporating gender and country ID into this, but I just don't know where they fit in, or if I am simply trying to do too much in a loop. I would be very thankful if someone could explain what is wrong with my loop to help me figure out what I might be doing wrong. Thanks!

Englund

TS Contributor
I would suggest using the forvalues command instead of foreach. Anyway, something like the code below might get you a bit on the way

forvalues j=1(1)3 {
forvalues i=1(1)30 {
forvalues k=1(1)2 {
twoway scatter average age if average==`j' & country==`i' & sex==`k'
}
}
}

Unfortunately, the code above gives you 3*30*2=180 graphs. But I hope it gives you some ideas of how to use loops :)