Difference between multiple regression and multivariable linear regression?

is there any difference between multiple regression and multiariable linear regression. I tried to google about the latter one,but the results just show me the multiple regression...............

hlsmith

Not a robit
Multiple linear regression and multivariate linear regression are similar but definitely different.

The former is regression with multiple predictors and a linear outcome.

The latter is the same thing, but you have two or more different linear outcomes.

@hlsmith, I want to know the practical approach of multivariate regression. my question is that, if we run a multivariate regression with 5 predictors and 2 response variables. how many regression coefficients will be there?
1 - will there be one slope from a predictor to predict two response variables?
2 - or there will be two slopes from one predictor, each for each of the response variables?

hlsmith

Not a robit
I am not very experienced with Multivariate Modeling. It is my belief that everything is pretty much the same, but there are a bunch of secondary statistics which evaluate how same terms were used on both models, etc. Sorry I am not much more help. @lindsey chan are you sure they used multivariate, some times people accidently use that term erroneously. I am not proud to say a decade ago I publish a paper where I erroneously used the term multivariate in lieu of multiple, though given the methods section, it should have been apparent it was multiple regression.

I had that experience a year ago. In social sciences paper, I proposed multiple regression model and supervisor took it and repeatedly said it was a multivariate model. Any how I was accredited.

ondansetron

TS Contributor
is there any difference between multiple regression and multiariable linear regression. I tried to google about the latter one,but the results just show me the multiple regression...............