Factor Analysis Question

Hi everyone, I'm a Trainee Clinical Psychologist, not a statistician but we have research to do as part of our training so I'm hoping someone here can help.

I'm working on a questionnaire that we want to factor analyze to see if there are clusters/factors within the data that would be indicative of different diagnoses. The problem I have is that while most of the items are scored on a 5-point scale, not all of them are... some are a yes/no option.

My concern is that scoring "no" as 1, and "yes" as 2 (say) means that the 2 will load with other scores of 2 which may be entirely spurious.

My specific question, is can we justify analysing it if we treat the two-part answers as if they were the poles of a 5-point scale (so 1 for "No" and 5 for "yes").

I think this would work, but i don't want to violate some law of FA, and my crude attempts at finding the answer online haven't worked.

Hopefully someone can help.

Thanks!

Hi everyone, I'm a Trainee Clinical Psychologist, not a statistician but we have research to do as part of our training so I'm hoping someone here can help.

I'm working on a questionnaire that we want to factor analyze to see if there are clusters/factors within the data that would be indicative of different diagnoses. The problem I have is that while most of the items are scored on a 5-point scale, not all of them are... some are a yes/no option.

My concern is that scoring "no" as 1, and "yes" as 2 (say) means that the 2 will load with other scores of 2 which may be entirely spurious.

My specific question, is can we justify analysing it if we treat the two-part answers as if they were the poles of a 5-point scale (so 1 for "No" and 5 for "yes").

I think this would work, but i don't want to violate some law of FA, and my crude attempts at finding the answer online haven't worked.

Hopefully someone can help.

Thanks!
Instead of yes/no what you should have done is scale out out...

for example:

1 -- not likely