Greetings and Salutations

bryangoodrich

Probably A Mammal
I decided to take a look at some of the off-topic forums and saw there weren't many threads here. Since I plan on sticking around here for awhile, it seemed right to introduce myself.

I only recently joined up at the Math Help Forum (looks a lot like this place!) because I figured I should probably put the internet to my benefit when it comes to interacting with other mathematicians. It has been too long since I've had the chance to do that! I rarely ask questions, and even as I was about to, I ended up doing a web search on the topic. That search brought me here, and it looked so familiar I decided to stay. While it is very, very much slower than MHF, the topics are spot on to what I like. More on that below.

I'm from California (USA), and I graduated from CSU Sacramento in 2009 with a degree in mathematics and statistics. I had a short stint at UCD in economics, but lack of funding and poor support completely turned me off. I've been a grad student stuck in limbo for awhile now. Starting again at CSUS this fall. My plan is to use them as a stepping stone (get letters and more experience) to get into the stats program at UC Davis.