Help me pick statistical tests to analyze this data (medical)

I'm a Neurology resident working on a project studying socioeconomic and neuropsychiatric (burnout, depression, anxiety, etc) data on physicians compared to general population in my country (quite similar to this study: Burnout and satisfaction with work-life balance among US physicians relative to the general US population.

To do this I created 2 questionnaires, one for physicians, the other one for general population. I exported to excel the answers and did some basic analysis (mostly percentage). Obviously, physicians had poorer results in all tests. I know want to find correlations such as:
  • years practicing an occupation, salary, working hours/week, etc and neuropsychiatric scale results
  • compare those results between physicians and general population
  • etc
I'm quite inexperienced in statistical analysis and this is buy my second study in my career, so I need some help. I want to know which tests should I use. I'm aware of chi², but I read that I should be using also ANOVA and MANOVA, but I still need to get into them. Could anyone point me into what tests I should do research? I can post a sample of my database or the parameters I'm studying if this needs clarification.

Karabiner

TS Contributor
Maybe you could do a web search for "statistical tests decision tree" or something like that.
Two example for such trees you can find here.

With kind regards

Karabiner

hlsmith

Not a robit
Well make sure you are going to just compare everything possible between the two vocational groups. Post your primary study question and which variable you would examine to answer the question. Do forget to post your sample size and how all the variables are formatted.

Very nice site. Those trees are really helpful for me! I'm also using this site to learn: https://researchbasics.education.uconn.edu/