Help with path analysis

Hi everyone,

I am a clinical psychology student trying to use confirmatory path analysis to determine whether a model using gender (categorical), gender stereotyped self-concept discrepancy, self-esteem, and parental support to "predict" suicidal ideation for a normal self-selected sample of 18 and 19 year old post-high school students. All of the other variables are measured using likert-scaled measures. My problem is that I have only been able to recruit 92 women and 21 men in a year and a half. I am trying to determine whether this discrepancy in the number of male and female participants will be problematic for the analysis, but I am unable to find any resources that have any answers. I have been trying on my own for two weeks since consulting with my committee. I can not move onto data analysis without this answer, which is impacting my timeline for graduation. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

JohnM

TS Contributor
Yes, if gender is a predictor variable in your model, then 21 men vs 92 women would present a problem - the unbalanced sample sizes may also affect the analysis/interpretation of the other predictors as well (you may see a sample size "effect" rather than a real effect).

There is really nothing else, in my opinion, that can be done, other than finding 71 more men to participate.

Have you tried offering an incentive, such as $5? - I know 5*71 is a lot of money, but it may reap benefits.

Another idea - approach professors at your school and mention your sample size problem, and ask them to offer extra-credit in their class for participating in your study.

How about advertising on campus (flyers)?

If all it takes is answering a survey, I'm sure you could twist a few arms....