Help with statistical analysis for physio research

Hi

I am an MSc student in physiotherapy. For my research study, I am looking to see the agreement between a patient's questionnaire and a physiotherapist estimate of the same score. So basically, the patient complete a ten part questionnaire, all scored 0-10. The physiotherapist sees the patients, is blinded to the questionnaire score, and then completes their own estimates of the same/similarly worded questionnaire (i.e. their estimates for what the patient scored).

Therefore, there will be two scores for each patient per question. e.g. Question one, patient scored themselves at a 5, the physio scored them a 3. And so on...

There will be approximately 80 patients for the study. Approximately 10-15 physiotherapists, so about 5 patients each.

What I am unsure of, because similar studies have used different methods, is whether to use an agreement measure such as ICC/Bland-Altman (if this is continuous data?) or weighted kappa (if this is ordinal). Or whether I should simply use a correlation analysis, such as pearsons/spearmans, which some studies use. To me, an agreement measure makes more sense, as I want to know how close the physiotherapists are getting to the patient's score (which is the validated 'gold standard' measure). But I am not sure, so if anyone has any advice that'd be amazing. thank you

Miner

TS Contributor
There are a number of ways you could analyse this:
  • One approach would be to calculate the delta between the patient and the physiotherapist then perform a 1-way ANOVA (or ANOM depending on your null hypothesis) using the different physiotherapists as the grouping variable.
  • Or perform a repeated measures ANOVA using the physiotherapists as the between groups variable and the two scores as the within groups variable.
What did you mean by "similar studies have used different methods"? Similar studies to your study?

Miner

TS Contributor