Hi everyone!

Hi,

My name's Alicia, and I'm a psych student who's just finished college. I'm planning to get into an MSc program in clin psych, but also have an itch towards statistics.

I've to admit that I'm only a beginner in stats. Right now, I'm attempting to learn maximum likelihood estimation (because my college supervisor wants me to look over my senior thesis again), but top searches on that famous search engine gets me things that make me want to headdesk, and a digging at a local bookshop didn't pay off (although I did find a SAGE paper on interaction effects in logistic linear regression, I think. It was interesting).

Anyway, HI! :wave:

trinker

ggplot2orBust
Welcome aboard Alicia Wong!

You may find this article on MLE to be a helpful guide. It may be helpful to look at MLE in context of statistical tests/analysis that rely on MLE: Search Generalized Linear Models (many use MLE) and within GLM search logistic regression, Poisson and negative binomial.

Last edited:

Link

Ninja say what!?!
Something else that might help as well is to try and learn the difference between method of moments estimation and MLE. It'll give you a better understanding of what MLE does.

@Trinker: thanks for the file ^^ it's helping a lot (still in the midst of reading it, though). And just Alicia would do :) Alicia Wong sounds so formal!

@Link: I think I read about this somewhere - it's concerning the mean, variance, standard deviation and then estimating from there right?

spunky

Doesn't actually exist