How and by what magnitude will Multiple Imputation influence my statistical results?

Dear Forum,

Hello and thank you for reading. I am a researcher based at UNSW and I have just received reviewers comments back on a manuscript that I submitted assessing the safety and efficacy of Sativex (a cannabis extract) for managing cannabis withdrawal. I have been able to address most of the comments, but this one below has just stumped me on exactly what type of answer I should give - and what the answer is!! The question relates to my participant drop out, which was significantly higher in the placebo group during the 6 days of blinded 'medication' administration. Following those 6 days, drop out was high in both groups (for three days of medication free 'wash-out'). My primary outcome is withdrawal severity, measured once daily using a validated withdrawal scale, and analysed using Mixed Model for Repeated Measures. I used Multiple Imputation, and here is the reviewers comment:

1. Of the 51 patients enrolled into the study, 24 were randomized to the placebo and 27 subjects to the active drug group and were included into the ITT analysis. Missing data were imputed using the multiple imputation method. The authors should comment on how and with what magnitude this method may influence the statistical results of their primary outcomes.

I think the answer maybe should be that you cannot answer this as we do not know what value the missing data would have taken... but.... not sure - I have had a go at it below - let me know if you think you can improve on this please :)