How do I prove my results are statistically significant or not?

Soc

Sorry in advance, I'm a complete statistics novice!
I have a three chemical samples which were prepared in exactly the same way, and when tested have given different results. How would I statistically compare these?
I was told by somebody to divide the average by the standard deviation to get the p-value..
I need to include statistical analysis in my report but I'm so confused as to how to do it.

Any help would be most appreciated,
Sarah

noetsi

Fortran must die
Tested how (that is what result is generated)? Depending on what type of result is generated you can run different statistical test. Say for example you are measuring the ph of the three chemcials. In practice PH can be treated as an interval dependent variable. Than you have a dummy predictor (two of the three concentrations coded as two seperate dummy variables - the third concentration is analyzed through an intercept and is called the reference level. It has no dummy variable). If the p value for the dummies are signficant (below .05 normally) than that dummy is signficantly different than the reference concentration(the third concentration you did not code as a dummy directly) in terms of ph.

Dividing the average by the standard error may give you a t score (or similar statistic) to test a difference. It does not directly give you a p value (which has to be calculated given the score and an assumed distribution for the test). Regardless the simple answer is you run a statistical test

Soc

Thank you, I think I kind of get what you you're saying...
I've bound a drug to a protein, filtered it to leave the unbound drug and have tested the concentration of it through a HPLC machine. Which involves creating a calibration curve and then using the area of the peak and the equation of the calibration curve to find the concentration. I'm not sure if this can still be treated as an interval dependent variable?