How to become a statistician (Epidemiologist) If I have not measured in Statistics

:yup: Hello There I am a masters student in health science. By health science I mean a mix of epidemiology, psychology, and health policy. It is a great major but I am leaning more toward epidemiology. But as you know It is not worth it to go back to school to get a MSc in Epi because there is so much i already know and getting two masters is like 1 masters.

So I am asking since I am not a hardcore math statistician person, will I have any future in epidemiology if I just independently and thoroughly study everything and improve myself....or will I have no future in this field...

Some of the people in the field that i know are not hardcore statisticians but every job posting that I see in epi they do not want Health science, MPH people...they all want hardcore statistician math people which has made me really upset...

SORRY for the typo, I meant Majored

Any advice friends?

Last edited:
Re: How to become a statistician (Epidemiologist) If I have not measured in Statistic

Anyone? I really appreciate your insightful comments...

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
Re: How to become a statistician (Epidemiologist) If I have not measured in Statistic

I can probably provide quite a bit of information for you (I am an epidemiologist). Absolutely love it.

But I think a big question for you is what about it do you like or are interested in. I say this because there are different tracks. I know people in labs that run no stats at all. If you did or did not get a MSc what would you want to do in the field (e.g., work on studies, clinical trials, etc.). The big misconception that I see is that normal people think we are dermatologists and many others think we only investigate infectious diseases, which neither are fully true. The foundations were based on ID, but that is now just a subsect, there is genetic, oncology, etc.