I'm at a dead end!!

Hello everyone I am an undergraduate psychology student and I'm facing lots of troubles with the statistic analysis.

Firstly, I've got 1 independent variable and 7 depended ones and my data is not normally distributed.

My main problem is that I don't know when and why to use a specific statistic test.
For example, I run a Kendall's tau for correlations. Most of my dependent-independent correlations are not significant (NS).
So, my first question is if I should run a linear regression analysis (is there a non parametric equivallent?) for NS correlations? Keep in mind that my grouping variables are not equal in size.

hlsmith

Not a robit
Well your data don't necessarily need to be normal, that assumption is on the residuals. So linear regression my be a possibility. Tell us more about your data and there formatting. Also to confirm, you have 7 different outcomes and 1 predictor, correct?

P.S., I love your post's title, though it isn't that informative beyond describing your existential crisis!

@Dason - please provide a link to you all's LR paper, please.

Thank you for your answer @hlsmith!

Yes, I've got 1 predictor (religiosity), independent variable (IV) as we use to call it, and 7 dependent variables (DV), meaning 7 aspects that I expect to be affected by my predictor. Specifically, I'm testing if religiosity helps physical (4 variables) and psychological (3 variables) adjustment.

My hypothesis is that my IV will be helpful to specific groups of people, e.g. to those with lower education (LE) but not to those with higher (HE. Groups are binomial). My IV and DVs are all continuous, likert type, and not normally distributed (except one index of physical adjustment).

I started off with Kendall's tau (I concluded it's better than Spearman's rho) and I got some significant correlations. Then I got stuck because I don't know the next step I should take.