Incorporating time series date into before/after intelligence testing? (n00b alert)

Hello there!

A short introduction: My background is pure maths and computer science however I did not take anything past first year statistics at university. I consider myself fairly able when it comes to learning new mathematical concepts however 'I dont know what I dont know'. Please excuse me if I have made some fundamentally bad assumptions, I am here to learn after all!

I've been tasked with performing a statistical analysis on some data related to a drug trial. Three drugs are being compared. The drug is related to cognitive performance in a number of domains. Students were matched with a control in the same classroom and performed an intelligence test at the start and end of a six month period. The main task here is obviously to determine how each drug affected performance in the intelligence test. I think this can be acheived via a standard M/ANOVA. However there is another issue...

The complicating factor is the side effects of the drugs and how they may have affected cognitive performance or interacted with student's ability to learn. We have time series data for the duration of the trial where each student submits a weekly report of any physiological or pyschological effects they might experience.