Junes: Hi there! (new here)

Hi everyone!

I just joined a few days ago, and I'm already addicted. I just love picking off the easy questions and learning something new from the harder ones.

I just started teaching at a university for applied sciences (as they call it in English) in the Netherlands. Basically, it's a kind of vocational school for higher-level practical jobs; we teach people who aspire to become nurses, journalists, programmers, graphic designers, those kind of jobs. Right now I teach a first-year course in methodology (both quantitative and qualitative) and one in statistics to communication and business students. I love teaching and I love my students, even though they're not exactly stats wizzes. :) Who knows one would need to spend 10 minutes understanding moving averages... :rolleyes:

My background is in psycholinguistics (MSc.) and AI/cognitive science/cognitive psychology (BSc.). Lately I feel that I don't test my brain enough, so I'm thinking of joining some research projects to help on the statistics part (there's a dire need for stats people at these kind of schools). Maybe also some qualitative stuff (I worked in market research and while I hated it, I love doing interviews). At any rate, I will be checking in here now and then to pick up new ideas and learn new things!

I try to stay out of topics where I'm out of my depth, but you're of course welcome to correct me when I'm wrong.

EDIT: since my username is pretty gender-neutral, it might be a good idea to state that I am a human being of the male variety.

Last edited:

gianmarco

TS Contributor
Re: Hi there! (new here)

Hi Junes,
welcome onboard :)

It is nice to see people willing to contribute to help others and to share knowledge and experiences :tup:

As for me, I am an archaeologist "forced" to face stats issues. It happened to me to help peolpe here, and to learn a lot from moderators and other users.

Best Regards and see you here in the Forum,
Gianmarco
:wave: