Longitudinal causal modelling

Hi community!

I am asking for help primarily due to how poor my dissertation supervisor has been. I am a Neuropsychology student and am due to start my dissertation, which is specifically looking at the impact of gut health on our mood, and even behaviours/preferences. I designed the experiment, but did so on the back of guidance from my supervisor who claimed we could establish a causal relationship through a complex statistical procedure that he was willing to help me with. This all sounds great, but multiple emails and two months later and I have not had a reply since.

I was just hoping to pick your brains as to what the best statistical analysis may be for this following experiment (the analysis I am unsure on would be for experiment 2):

Experiment 1:
Individuals with temperamental guts complete the following:
-7 day food checklist to identify how 'inflammatory' their diet is
-Questionnaire on gut health
-Questionnaire on mood
-Questionnaire on sleep quality

The variables will all be correlated against factors of gut health (established via factor analysis) to attempt to establish significant relationships between the variables and gut health. The variables that are significant are then included in the second experiment.

Experiment 2:
Lasting for two weeks, each day the individuals have to-
-Complete a forced-choice paradigm choosing between inflammatory and anti-inflammatory food items (measuring food preference)
-Gut health measure
-Other measures which were found to significantly correlate in experiment 1