(M)ANOVA or not to (M)ANOVA: Data Analysis Selection Confirmation/Help

Let me first start off by saying, gosh I hate to admit this to you all, I'm a single-case researcher. Group design and statistical methodology are not my strong suit. I know enough to be dangerous--so please excuse my ignorance. I am here to learn though, so any help would be appreciated! I'm hoping someone can give me some guidance on a group design project we're proposing to run in the spring. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Questions for the forum (see background below):
Are the 5 activities actually considered separate IVs or they 5 individual DV's (I'd assume IV's)?
The DV appears to me to be continuous, but do the procedural constraints/the choice-paradigm make them more functionally a dichotomous/binary type measure?
Since we're attempting to order the activities based on the percentage of selection, would then cause our data to be ordinal? If so, how would this affect data anaylsis strategies?
Would a MANOVA be an appropriate data analytic strategy to parse out the proposed question (below)?
What alternative strategy(-ies) could or should be used?

Study Background:
Two groups: a "written description" control group; a "video description" treatment group (random equal assignment)