Marine science research test help

Hello stat experts.

I have been assigned with the data analysis on some marine science research, but I am by no means an expert. I was hoping to get some advice on what test I should use as well as how I should set up my data. I think I need to use a one-way ANOVA but am not sure. My research question is: Is there a significant difference in the amount of fish between different artificial reef types? The details of the data set are:

-5 different surveys, each split into two days (the first day is at location #1, the second-day location #2) over a period of months between 2004 and 2005.
-In each survey, there are 5 different reef types, with two repeated measures (amount of fish) for each reef type.

I would also like to test to see if there is a difference between the two locations as well. I am no data scientist so any feedback would be very helpful! Thank you.

noetsi

Fortran must die
You can use either regression or ANOVA. Why did they split them over two days. I don't see a before or after aspect to this.

Sorry, I didn't explain that part very well. There are 5 surveys total. For example, Survey 1 is over two days (day one is at one location and day two is at the second location). That goes for all the other surveys. There's no really before and after. It's just to see which group/reef type has the most fish.

noetsi

Fortran must die
The problem with that is you have to assume day does not matter as a separate factor. If it does you have to address it. It would have been a lot simpler to measure both locations at the same time.

The problem now is like this.
You measure one of the locations on day 1. You measure the other on day 2. Conditions are different on day 1 and 2. Now something other than the two locations have to be addressed.