Mini Research Project

Hi, I am a adult student in a accelerated degree completion program. I am wondering if I could get some basic help on starting a mini research project. I was asked to get local stats for battered women for the last five years. The only other instructions for the assignment was to compare that information to the national average/stats.

Do I understand that I need to get the mean, mode, median, Standard deviation for my five years and then take the same for the entire data that I gathered and then somehow do the same for the national stats?

I think I am stuck because my local stats were raw data on actual persons and most of the national stats are percentages. They just don't seem to be comparable data.

JJohnson

JohnM

TS Contributor
Basically, what is/are the research question(s)? What is the objective of the research?

Once we answer that, we'll know how to do the comparison / what kind of data we'll need.

I think the question is: Is the sample of data on domestic violence against females in the local Pennsylvania area representative of the national findings on female domestic violence victims?
Because there is so much data in various areas, I chose to look at three in particular. They are number of women victims seen by the local agency, of those how many are cauc., how many are black and how many are hispanic. I also am looking at how many of those women are under 18 or over 18.

JJohnson

JohnM

TS Contributor
OK, and the national percentages tell you these types of overall break-downs?

Do you want to compare local percentages against national percentages?

That is where I am confused about comparing the data. I have actual people numbers from my local sources and I have numbers in the thousands for the national averages. For instance, for my first fiscal year of comparison its this:
FY2005
Local Actual

Total Women 419
Race
White 291
Black 18
Other 12
Ethnicity
Hispanic 21
Non-Hispanic
Over 18 242