Multinomial logistic regression

Hi,

I'm quite new to R and I need a little advise on whether multinomial logistic regression is right for what I'm hoping to do for my data. Basically, I've been given some camera trap data to work with. The data is non-normal and consists of 25 species documented over 30 different trap locations. I have environmental variables for each trap (e.g. canopy cover, distance to water source etc). I would like to see whether species abundance/diversity varies across different environmental variables. I initially thought a general linear model could work but reading around makes me think miltinomial logistic regression is the best option for me. I assume I can't do just logistic regression as that seems to need the dependent variable to be just 2 options e.g. presence vs absence of a particular species which is a bit limiting. So to do species diversity as the dependent variable with 3 or so environmental variables as independent variables would multinomial logistic regression be suitable? If so how do I perform one? (my book only covers linear and logistic regression).

I hope all that makes sense!

Thanks in advance :)

rogojel

TS Contributor
hi,
is the diversity measure just the number of different species you ind in the trap? Maybe a poisson tegression could work here?

regards

noetsi

Fortran must die
I don't think they are ordered either.
If you have 25 distinct levels of your dependent variable than multinomial logistic regression probably is not your best bet. Generally once you get to something like 11 plus distinct levels your dependent variable becomes "interval like" and linear regression becomes a better option. Or so I have heard....

Okay, thanks for your replies!

What's the difference between poisson and linear regression? Also the data is non-parametric if that makes a difference?

Sorry for all the questions!

Let's take a repeat of this question. When that is answered it will probably be easier to suggest something.