Multiple Regression for Compensation Planning

I have very little statistics experience, so what I am about to ask may actually be a very simple question, but it is driving me crazy.

I am working on creating a job evaluation system (for compensation purposes) using Job Component, which is a statistical method. This method requires for several factors to be evaluated for each job (which eventually become the x values), along with the estimated market pay rate for each job (which become the y values).

I have chosen several factors to use (in order to determine which will be the best ones to stick with when I am finished), and gathered the data for each job in my "test" group (which consists of about 30 jobs). It seems that no matter what combination of the factors I use, or even if I use all of them that I cannot seem to get an r square value of above about .76 or so.

I have been doing the multiple regression in Excel, but I also have Minitab (which I have only used a couple of times, so I am not very familiar with the processes).

Has anyone else tried something similar, or possibly have any advice on what I can do to get this to work? Do I need a larger sample size (more than 30)?

Any pointers or advice would be greatly appreciated.

So you have some variables X1,X2,...,Xk that contain scores on several aspects of evalution (I would guess for example: being on time, not exceeding deadlines, personal sales, etc...)

And you have an (estimated) pay rate Y

So we would all expect the higher the X scores (better performance), the higher the Y score (at least in the US or UK: countries that are very performance orientied. In Europe or Japan I would expect to relation to be less strong). But anways...

First of all, an R² value of 0.76 is already VERY NICE! In finance (what I do) we are jumping in the air if we find R² values over 0.10 :D

So I guess you are estimating the folowing regresion:

Y = a + bX