Multiple Regression on SPSS - Correlations and Coefficients

Sorry if this question sounds laughable to any of you. I'm really new to stats and find it quite challenging.

I'm a 3rd year Biology student and am investigating the effect of several factors on the number of bats that pass the detector device each night.

I have run a multiple linear regression with bat passes as the dependent variable, and temperature, night length, and temperature/night length interaction (temperature*night length) as independent variables.

The SPSS output gives me a 'Correlations' table and a 'Coefficients' table. I am really struggling to understand how for example passes and temperature have a statistically significant relationship under the correlations table, but are not statistically significant on the coefficients table.

If someone could please explain this to me in very plain layman's terms I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks so much.

ondansetron

TS Contributor
Sorry if this question sounds laughable to any of you. I'm really new to stats and find it quite challenging.

I'm a 3rd year Biology student and am investigating the effect of several factors on the number of bats that pass the detector device each night.

I have run a multiple linear regression with bat passes as the dependent variable, and temperature, night length, and temperature/night length interaction (temperature*night length) as independent variables.

The SPSS output gives me a 'Correlations' table and a 'Coefficients' table. I am really struggling to understand how for example passes and temperature have a statistically significant relationship under the correlations table, but are not statistically significant on the coefficients table.

If someone could please explain this to me in very plain layman's terms I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks so much.