Multivariate data set of two groups: finding which variables are statistically diff.

I have a data set consisting of two different groups (A and B) each with 5 specimens. We tested 73 different variables in each specimen and recorded the data. I am new to statistics, so I am struggling to find the best method(s) in which to analyse the data so that I can find which variable(s) is/are statistically different between the two groups. I do not know which variables are independent, dependent, or some mixture there of. I am using R to do the analysis on this data set, but I can fingure out how to use R once I figure out what tests and steps need to happen statistically first.

Re: Multivariate data set of two groups: finding which variables are statistically di

Quick addition, all of the data recorded are numerical noninteger values. So, I have a 10x73 matrix: first 5 rows for group A and last five rows for group B.

Re: Multivariate data set of two groups: finding which variables are statistically di

Could you tell us more about your research and its purpose?

What do you want to accomplish? It's usually considered a bad idea to do significance testing without defining hypotheses or research questions. If you test for 73 variables at once, there's a large chance that the "significant" difference is just a coincidence since you're doing so many tests.

If you really have no clue and just want to explore the data, a better idea would be to do a descriptive analysis on these data, formulate hypotheses based on the results (and theory). And then test these in a new study. You will also need a larger sample size then; n=5 is very small.

Last edited: