Non-parametric methods

Hi everyone.

This is my first time on this forum … thank you for accepting me!

I have run a Quade's rank analysis of covariance (Quade, 1967) using SPSS.

The reason I did not use a straight ANCOVA was because three of the five assumptions underpinning parametric ANCOVA were not confirmed in my data. As the non-parametric method (Quade's) identifies, you are running the ANOVA part of the ANCOVA analysis on the rank-ordered dependent variable with the residuals saved in the OLS regression part of the ANCOVA analysis as the factor. The residuals are clearly the differences between the rank-ordered DV scores minus the predicted scores from the OLS regression model.

All I am able to do currently is, based on the F-ratio (Quade's index), is accept or reject the null.

Any post-hoc follow up is based on rank ordered data. I need to be able to refer the data back to the original units of measurement as a post-hoc procedure otherwise the results will make no sense!

Does anybody have some advice about how I might resolve this?

Karabiner

TS Contributor
Could you tell us something about your study (research questions, variables included, measurement of the variables, sample size), and why you assume that ANCOVA assumptions are violated?

With kind regards

Karabiner

Last edited:
Thanks for coming back to me on this Karabiner.
I have three groups of males (n1 = 89, n2 = 295 and n3 = 66). The dependent variable (DV) is body mass (kg) and the covariate (CV) is age (yrs). I wanted to use ANCOVA to test the H0: M1 = M2 = M3 on the group masses holding the covariate stable.
Only three of the five assumptions underpinning parametric ANCOVA were met in my data.