Parasite fascination in Africa

Hello guys!

I new around here - who would have guessed? - and wanted to say hi.
I am a German bachelor student highly interested in parasitology and currently working on my thesis in the central African country Gabon. Here I stay until the end of february and hope to make good use of the opportunities offered to me.

For I am no good in statistics but really need to get this running, I am already sorry for any 'stupid' questions that might come from my side.
Who ever might have a question of their own regarding my field of research might feel free to contact me at any time - I'd love to give some insights!

Thanks for having me here :D
Miss_Para

hlsmith

Not a robit
Parasite cycles are more than fascinating. I find them especially interesting when the parasite turns the host into a zombie in order to complete its own life cycle. Mouse you are now attracted to cat urine. Fish or other wild life looking as though they are hurt potential preyed due to parasite, then predator eats it and now the cycle continues. There are so many cool ones, bird eats crippled fish, then defecates into the water source for parasite to eventual get back into the fish. Super cool stuff. Everything is interconnected. I also liked when they say your own good bacteria can hang out in the appendix and repopulate after your GI tract gets wiped out. there is an evolutionary opportunist for you.

Do you have a favorite parasite or area yet?

Yeah, stats are very relevant, though you all have some particular stats you run for communicability, that I would imagine can get generalized to some social media usages these days.

Glad to have you on board.