please help... retaking an exam on t scores,

Hi,
I'm new here. I found this place on Google after two days of studying like mad and not understanding anything. well, sort of. Let me explain:

I'm a nursing/health sciences student, sophomore year, taking stats and research methods for health sciences. I hate this class so much. *cries* I mean, the teacher is really great and nice, but not only is it STATS, a hard math class (I'm absolutely horrible at math!), but it's not even normal stats! my bf and the school tutoring services helped me pass College Algebra last semester, to where I actually understood things. but even people who understand stats are confused by the terms and stuff in my class! :( and my teacher basically told me I was on my own for finding a tutor... she is nice though-- she offered to let me retake the stats test this Monday afternoon (but I actually think I'll have to do it in the morning. =/). So I kind of want to have some idea of what on earth I'm testing on...

okay, according to my book, we're studying null and alternative hypotheses. from what I understand, a null hypothesis is the pre-assumed, accepted concept. (The sky is blue) The alternative hypothesis is challenging the null hypothesis (The sky is not blue).

Also we have one-tailed and two-tailed t tests. it has something to do with 'Student's' t test. if the alternative hypothesis (H1) is 'the sky is different than blue', it's a two-tailed test and myu/population mean is = or not =. if it's 'the sky is less than/greater than blue', you use > or < and it is a one-tailed/one-directional test.

We're also dealing with critical values and critical regions. I *think* that how it works is that if the t or z score is in the critical region you fail to reject the null hypothesis (H0) because it's not significantly different/greater than/less than the actual results. or something. and you do reject it if the t score is outside the critical value.