Preparing for PHD

Hello All,

I just wanted to gather a few opinions on pursuing a PHD in Statistics given my background. I would like to begin a PHD program in maybe 3 or 4 years so I wanted to see what type of preparation is necessary.

I have an undergrad degree in Business and an MS in Technological Entrepreneurship.
The only math related courses I have taken are Quantitative Analysis for Business 1 and 2 and Business Statistics. I also conducted a research paper for my honor’s thesis in which I collected data and used multivariate hypothesis testing to find correlations between 10+ variables.

To be eligible for a PHD program I was thinking I would take a few grad courses in stats as a non matriculating student and do well on my GRE.

Just wondering if this would be enough or do I have no shot since I do not have a purely mathematical background.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

noetsi

Fortran must die
There won't be one answer to that question, because different universities have their own requirements and they differ a lot potentially. It might be useful to consider some of the universities you are thinking of attending and ask them what their requirements are.

Mean Joe

TS Contributor
I just wanted to gather a few opinions on pursuing a PHD in Statistics given my background. I would like to begin a PHD program in maybe 3 or 4 years so I wanted to see what type of preparation is necessary.

Just wondering if this would be enough or do I have no shot since I do not have a purely mathematical background.
You seem to think that a special kind of person is required to get a PhD in statistics. Well, maybe. But I'd say you can do it.

What would you think about a person with "the perfect background for a statistics PhD" going into a field like electrical engineering? Wouldn't that be possible, or would that be a waste? People can do what they want to do.

3 years off to take some grad courses to prepare you for PhD?