probability of 3 close family members all having an eye disease

Hi, I am a little rusty with my statistics. I am an eye doctor. The probability of a retinal detachment is 1/10,000. I just found out today my brother got one. He is probably having surgery later today!

Here is what is odd: My other brother already had one. And my wife has one!

so what are the odds here? I guess the qualifier is the odds that 3 close family members would get this...

Good point. I agree. There are many factors that contribute to risk (amount of nearsightedness, genetics, history of trauma). However, for arguments sake, out of 5 close people, odds that 3 would have 1/10000 detachment?

ondansetron

TS Contributor
I think @Dason is making the point that the 1/10,000 might be a marginal probability (think of disease prevalence in the general population or lifetime incidence or something to that effect), but these are not independent cases because family members are genetically linked and the probability of retinal detachment is higher for those people with specific genotypes (think of Marfan's syndrome or homocystinuria) or those that are related, so it wouldn't be correct to assume each family member has 1/10,000 chance.

yes, and I agreed to his point. However my wife WOULD be an independent case.

and for arguments sake, I just want to ballpark it. So maybe rephrase the problem:
Out of a sample of 5, what are the odds that 3 would have this condition?

Karabiner

TS Contributor
Maybe quite high. In your personal environment, you probably have quite a number of relatives,
friends, and maybe also colleagues of whom you would notice if they had a significant medical
condition; and there's quite a number of possible significant conditions which could appear in your
personal environement during your life. Asking after the fact how probable it is that EXACTELY
THESE 3 people (out of 50, 100 or maybe 200?) showed exactely THIS condition (out of 20? 50?