Research problem with variables

Hi everyone,
I'm doing my master thesis about non material motivation factors and i want to see if there is significant difference between two age groups. I have 16 factors, when I do statistics in SPSS i got results separately. For each of those variables (16 results). 8 od 16 show significant difference. But my hypothesis is to see if there is difference in non material factors for two groups. So I need one result. I made new variable by conputevariable (all/16). On that way s. difference is very strong (p<0.001) but how is it possible if i watch them separately, only 8 of them are significant. Have I done something incorrectly?

obh

Hi Ivaaa,

I don't know what test did you run, and if the 16 factors are on the same scale? but I will give you a simple extreme example.
When you are not sure you should look for a simple extreme example to improve your intuition

Factor1:
Group1: 1,2,1,2,1,2,1,2
Group2: 3,4,5,3,4,5,3,4

Clearly there is a significant difference (pval=0.00002)

factor 2:
Group1: 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
Group2: 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1

Clearly there is no significance level (pval=1)

So if you take the average

factor (1+2)/2:
Group1: 1,1.5,1,1.5,1,1.5,1,1.5
Group2: 2,2.5,3,2,2.5,3,2,1.5

Clearly the average is also significant.

So the question why do you expect the average not to be significant???
I can find you another extreme example, that the non-significance factor has a large variance, and the average won't be significant.

But what if the (all/16). wasn't significant?
You may say that there is a significant difference between the group in some factor and no sig difference in other, why should you take the average? (unless all the factors describe what you want to compare, say aspects of the same factor)

Ps when you do 16 different tests, you should use a smaller significance level. (see multiple comparisons)