Residual Plot Interpretation

I'm fairly new to statistics as a whole so you'll have to excuse my ignorance if this is an easier answer than I've been making it to be... I have an OLS regression. The fitted-observed and fitted-residuals plots are below. Needless to say the data is non-normal. Is there anything I can do to meet the '6 OLS assumptions'. I have been avoiding transforming the model dependents because the study this OLS applies to looks more at the relationships between variables and their significance versus the model fit itself...
PLOT_lm3_FO1.png PLOT_lm3_FR.png

Thanks,
Tyler

Karabiner

TS Contributor
What is your dependent variable? There exist phenomena where non-transformation
has to be justified rather than transformation. And what are your predictor variables?

With kind regards

Karabiner

The dependent is a growth increment and the predictors represent various climate, stand and environmental conditions.

There are species and regional categoric variables included. These predictors are used only in interaction terms with other climate predictors.

Kind regards,
Tyler

Last edited:

Karabiner

TS Contributor
Can you assume that growth is linear with respect to your predictor variables?
Growth increment can be better modeled after its natural logarithm is taken,
as far as I know.

With kind regards

Karabiner

It's possible the relationship may be non-linear. I had thought the distribution of the fitted-observed plot almost looked exponential. My concern with any transformation of the dependent or predictors is that my ability to quantify the relationship between the transformed variables becomes muddied.

In the case of a transformed dependent, predictor coefficients are now related to a log-transformed dependent rather than the dependent itself.
That is to say the coefficient for mean temperature can no longer be interpreted as 0.9 degrees to each centimeter growth increment?