RESOLVED but still open for discussion: When to transform and when to use non-parametric tests?

Hi Amazing Forum of wonderfully statistically minded people.

I recently did some statistical analyses on cattle trials, and was considerably helped by this forum. I used non parametric testing for non normal data. However, my supervisor says (as a rule) it's better to transform data and use 'more common' parametric tests (such as glm) than use non parametric tests?

I've attached what I sent my supervisor, and I hoped some of you people could take a side. Have I made a mistake? And if I choose to transform for parametric testing, why (so I can explain)?

Best wishes

Miner

TS Contributor
Here are my two cents worth (note: my background is industrial statistics):
  • You lose information when you transform data
  • Non-normal data sets are often the result of mixtures or from an underlying process that changes over time. Trying to transform these is a mistake.
The usual argument for transforming data is that the parametric test has more power than the equivalent non-parametric test. However, that increased power is often small and with reasonable sample sizes is often irrelevant. Another argument from the slide rule era, was transforming data would allow you to use linear regression models instead of nonlinear models. Since we no longer use slide rules, that is a rather outdated argument.

@lucyd123 - there is no attachment.

I may differ a little from @Miner this time. I would normally go for transformations first. Transformations can result in more interpretable results for people, given you interpret them correctly. Skewed data are common and not necessarily the results of multiple process or at least well defined processes (e.g., costs and say economic growth). And parametric procedures can be robust to minor normality deviations. You can control for covariates in GLMs and there is more flexibility if you slide over to generalized estimating equations (GEEs).