Sample size calculation

Dear All,

I am a vascular surgeon planning a research project.
I need some advice regarding the sample size calculation.

I am looking at the same group of patients pre and post-procedure looking for a change in the diameter of their main blood vessel at 2 different points.
We have some data from a small pilot study published;

Pre post Range for post n
Point 1: 27.4mm 28.3mm 25.24 - 21.83 43
Point 2: 22.2mm 23.6mm 21.83 - 29.76 43

I have worked out the sample size in the attached image, can someone please confirm if this calculation is correct?
Do I need to add the two sizes or use the bigger of the two?

Thanks in advance.

Dr Sobath Prem

Attachments

Miner

TS Contributor
I can reproduce your sample sizes as you have stated the hypothesis. However, there are two changes that you can make to reduce the sample size further:
  1. Change this to a paired t-test. This will have the largest reduction in sample size. Since you stated this was a pre/post scenario, it is a paired t-test application.
  2. Change your hypothesis to a 1-sided test for a directional change instead of a 2-sided test of any difference. This will reduce the sample size further.

Dear Minder,

Many thanks for your response. I will definitely use your advice. Thanks. If I want to compare more points in the aorta (5 points ), do I need to increase the sample size?

Miner

TS Contributor