Six Sigma Certification Advice Urgently Needed

Hi everyone! I am considering obtaining a Black Belt Six Sigma certification online from sixsigmaonline.org. I have no business experience using six sigma methods and I thought this would be the most practical way to obtain a black belt and boost my resume credentials. However, in light of all the diploma mills, online scams, etc. floating around I am naturally a bit hesitant to shell out the money needed to obtain this.

My question is this: Can anyone tell me if this company is reputable and if so, would it be recognized as a valid substitute from having obtained the certification via real life business projects? I just don't wanna spend money on this if it's not going to carry any weight.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Miner

TS Contributor
I am a Six Sigma Master Black Belt, and teach the curriculum for my company. I reviewed the website that you listed, and I am not very impressed because they do not provide any details on the curriculum or learning objectives. I found a very interesting discussion thread on them at iSixSigma that was worth reading.

That link you provided was very insightful. Thanks a lot. If this is not a viable solution, what would you recommend doing to obtain a SS certification?

noetsi

Fortran must die
The American Society for Quality has a black belt certification I believe. That would probably be your best bet. Having done research on it and taken a six sigma course (I am trying to complete the certification now) I would say that 1) its not very strong on statistics and 2) its not particularly useful outside industrial applications (many of its methods only work with routinized behaviors).

Miner

TS Contributor