small sample size problems

Hi

i'm doing my master thesis and i'm searching for a way to analyse differences with small samples. The smallest is n=4 (1vs 3). Is there an option to analyse potential significant differences with this small samples? I don't think so but i'm pretty new in statistics, so i would be glad to hear your answers.

friendly regards

To put it another way, what do you hope to gain from comparing 1 vs 3, what would that contribute to your field?
It's about the efficiency (time) that users take to for-full a task. At the end i want to say for different tasks that for a specific task there is a significant difference between the user of one group to users of the other group.

Your sample sounds like it is just way too small to make any claims like this, especially between groups. You'll need to collect more data and that is your only option if you want to talk about differences.

Dason

Ambassador to the humans
I somewhat disagree.

I'm not saying it's ideal and you would be relying on lots of assumptions that you wouldn't have any way of checking. But you could theoretically do a two sample t-test assuming equal variances.

I somewhat disagree.

I'm not saying it's ideal and you would be relying on lots of assumptions that you wouldn't have any way of checking. But you could theoretically do a two sample t-test assuming equal variances.
Right, but how can the results possibly be interpretable? Whatever the result, the risk of it being a T1/T2 is too high. Also if any test were to be used, shouldn't it be a Mann-Whitney U?

Dason

Ambassador to the humans
I believe I said you would be relying on a lot of assumptions. And assuming those assumptions hold there isn't more risk of an error. The power will most likely be extremely low regardless.

obh

I believe I said you would be relying on a lot of assumptions. And assuming those assumptions hold there isn't more risk of an error. The power will most likely be extremely low regardless.