Sports Statisticians

Hi, I'm on the verge of graduating university and I wish to apply for job that involves the analysis of sports data. After browsing on the internet for any vacancies, i was only able to find one suitable role.

Does anyone know the pathway involved in becoming a Sports Statistician?

I'm currently studying a double degree Commerce and Science (majoring in finance and stats) at an Australian university. Cheers.

noetsi

Fortran must die
You might look up sabermetrics. This is the application of "statistics" to baseball. Note that much of what I have seen (not a great deal) of this approach does not suggest it is similar to the types of statistics one would learn in a university. It focuses more on statistics as data rather than statistics as a methodology (at least in the sense you learn such methodologies in a university). They appear to have created their own approaches to analyze data that has little in common with classical statistics. Much of the approach focuses on analyzing individual statistics (univariate rather than multivariate analysis).

There are journals that deal with sports statistics I believe. You might look at those although they may be geared to academic not practical applications (academicians focus on a great deal that is rarely used outside academics). :p

This might be of value.

http://stattrak.amstat.org/2012/08/01/sports-statistician/

Indeed is an on line publication that deals with jobs related to college. You might try there.

http://www.indeed.com/q-Sports-Statistics-jobs.html

Mean Joe

TS Contributor
Does anyone know the pathway involved in becoming a Sports Statistician?.
Can't say I do. But don't think there is only one pathway to doing it.

What have you done to get on a pathway? Do you have previous work/study experience, with an employer that has some contacts?

You could do something like start a blog, doing sports statistics. Better than laying around!