spunky's introduction...

spunky

Doesn't actually exist
hello everyone. so i'm not exactly sure why i've been putting off writing my intro for so long, but given recent developments (TS contributor status) i think it' would be nice to put a few things in order.

so, i am spunky. i am currently a graduate student in Psychometrics/Quantitative Psychology/Educational Measurement in the Univeristy of British Columbia, on the transition period between finishing my Master's and starting my PhD. i come from a mixed background in psychology and statistics...unfortunately for me, i did my bachelors degree in a VERY small community college in rural british columbia and, as such, 4th-year statistics courses almost never filled up and they ended up getting cancelled because i was the only one registered :( my formal training is, therefore, more in mathematics and a lot of self-taught statistics through "directed studies" and talking to faculty members who were PhDs in statistics. they always encouraged me to never give up and i owe where i am now due to their dedication and the faith they placed in me.

my research focuses mostly in the appropriate analysis of complex data sets which arise pretty often in the social sciences. i work a lot with latent-variable models (factor analysis, latent class analysis, structural equation modeling,...), item response theory (especially 2PL and 3PL models), classical test theory, robust statistics (there is so much missing data on those likert-type questionnaires... so many violations of assumptions...) but the area where i would love to become an expert on is what are now known as hierarchical linear models or multilevel models (my masters thesis is on them).