Stats for whole population data

Hi all - I'm an employee of a government department who has been asked to answer some question to do with a whole population data set. In short, here in NZ we only have one accident insurance sheme, so data from this scheme represents all the claims lodged for accidents in this country. I've got this data longitudinally and am being asked about whether recent changed in trends represent a statistically significant change from previous periods.

so, a couple of questions:

1) I think I'm dealing with a 'whole population' but of course don't have data that will exisit in the future, so is it really a 'whole' population?

2) My previous use of inferential stats has always been around applying results from a sample to a wider population - I'm not doing this here, so is inferential stats ever valid in a setting like this? I've got very little experience of longitudinal, whole population data sets, so this is new territory for me.

3) What tests should I consider when looking at whether these changes are 'significant'?

Any help would be most appreciated.

Kind regards

Jim

terzi

TS Contributor
Hi JimRobertsonnz,

From your explanation, I assume that you may need some modeling techniques. I'd say this is a "changepoint" regression problem. Let's say you are modeling a relationship between X and Y, but you suspect that this relationship may have changed at some point based on information you have available. There are tests designed for that. This is an analysis common in econometrics, so you should search for that.

Hope this helps.

CB

Super Moderator